Ram Nath Kovind approved elevation of additional judges to Karnataka and Kerala HC

Maralur Indrakumar Arun, Engalaguppe Seetharamaiah Indiresh, Ravi Venkappa Hosmani and Savanur Vishwajith Shetty, additional Judges of Karnataka High Court as the Judges of the Karnataka High Court.

The Centre made the appointment of Mudalikulam Raman Anitha and Karunakaran Nair Haripal, who were delegated as AJ of Kerala High Court in March and May, 2020, as judges of the Kerala High Court.

Judges Indrakumar Arun, Indiresh and Hosmani were delegated as additional Judges in January 2020. Justice Shetty was delegated in April 2020. The other six , specifically Justice Amarannavar, Uma, Srishananda, Sanjeevkumar, Desai, and Bhat were named as additional Judges in May 2020.

Recently, the High Court Collegium had suggested that the previously mentioned AJ be made permanent judges of the individual high courts.

Such power of appointment by President comes Under the clause (1) of Article 217 of the Constitution, the President affirmed the arrangement of Judges as Judges of their respective High Courts with effect from the date they assume charges of their respective offices.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s