CJI Ramana to swear in 9 Supreme Court judges tomorrow at one go, a first for the institution

The Supreme Court Collegium had recommended nine names for elevation to the Supreme Court on August 17. Accepting the recommendations made by the Collegium, the President of India appointed the nine judges to the Supreme Court on August 26.

Chief Justice of India Justice N.V. Ramana will administer the oath of office to the nine judge-designates at 10.30 am on Tuesday, August 31 in a ceremony to be held in the auditorium of the Supreme Court‘s Additional Building Complex.

The nine judge-designates are:

  1. Justice Abhay Shreeniwas Oka
  2. Justice Vikram Nath
  3. Justice Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari
  4. Justice Hima Kohli
  5. Justice Bangalore Venkataramiah Nagarathna
  6. Justice Chudalayil Thevan Ravikumar
  7. Justice M.M. Sundresh
  8. Justice Bela Madhurya Trivedi
  9. Justice Pamidighantam Sri Narsimha

In the history of the Supreme Court of India, this is for the first time that nine judges will be taking the oath of office in one go. In another first, the venue of the ceremony has been shifted to the auditorium in view of the need for strict adherence to Covid norms. Traditionally, the oath to new judges is administered in Court Room No.1 which is presided over by the Chief Justice of India.

The oath ceremony will be telecast live on DD News and DD India.

Join Lawcutor on whatsapp for more updates

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s