PIL in SC against 4 states for non-implementation of Ayushman Bharat scheme

A petition has been filed before the Supreme Court criticising the non implementation of the Pradhan Mantri Jan Arogya Yojana, alias Ayushman Bharat health insurance scheme, by Delhi, Telangana, Odisha and West Bengal.

The contention is that except Telangana, Delhi, West Bengal and Odisha all the states are implementing/availing the Ayushman Bharat scheme. The non-implementation of this scheme by the four states has resulted in the denial of health insurance benefit provided by Union of India to the people of the four states which are contrary to Article 14 and 21 of the Constitution of India.

The prayer demanded for , a comprehensive scheme to be framed by the Union of India and National Health Authority to provide Ayushman Bharat Health Insurance Scheme for desiring/eligible people and interested people may be given option to avail Ayushman Bharat scheme or local health schemes run by state governments.

The bench of Chief Justice S. A. Bobde, Justice A. S. Bopanna and Justice V. Ramasubramanian issued a notice, answerable within 4 weeks, to the Centre and the states.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s